new to this...cancer is back

lmatrix73

Hi, I'm new to this in that I've never used discussion boards before. My husband was diagnosed aged 41 with pancreatic cancer and had a whipples section 3 years ago. We thought he had beat it and was one of the low % to have been caught in time. He had a recent scan and last week and we were told they suspect the cancer is back as a localised recurrence. He needs another scan in 3 months to confirm and they have said he has a maximum of 2 years to live if they are correct. We have 2 small children and are very scared. First time round, with a new baby and a toddler, I did loads of research myself, and I know how awful this cancer can be. I really thought we were in the clear though, and am now so frightened about facing the future. I am trying to convince myself they have made a mistake but also I want to prepare myself for what's ahead, if they are correct. Just need to talk to people who can relate to this and need honesty too...am all over the place.

Hi

Just read your post and wanted to reply to you. Our situ isn't the same as it's my Mum that has PC and she's 65 but I'm 41 and can't imagine how hard it must be to have this at what seems a young age. The only advice I could give is to look into any natural products that may help as have spent hours looking into any and everything that can maybe make a difference to this disease (mainly because we were told surgery was a no-go and chemo would only slightly delay things which made me feel helpless) bottom line is we got some papaya leaf extract from an online company as it might possibly have some benefits and it was a positive thing to do instead of just giving up (not an option!)

Good luck and best wishes

John

Thanks for your reply...will check out the papaya leaf extract. We have been buying loads of cancer fighting foods and are trying very hard to stay positive for next scan. All the best with your mum too. 65 still seems so young!

Hi