Our Family's Story

AmandaJayne

Hello. This is my first time posting, having visited this forum several times over the past year.

My lovely mam was diagnosed with this dreadful disease in August 2020 and the diagnosis has devastated us all. Having endured 18 gruelling months of chemotherapy,  it now looks as though mam's journey of battling this vile cancer is coming to an end. 

It's been such a horrendous couple of years for us all, coming to terms with a future without our lovely mam, being so painfully aware of our limited time together being further compounded by the Covid restrictions.  I know people talk about a 'living nightmare' but truly I feel as though this is what we're going through. 

I'm not sure what I really want out of sharing my experience here other than perhaps being a space where I can say how I'm feeling to people who are going through the same thing. I don't cry in front of my mam as I don't want her to be scared of leaving us all. 

I can see the end rapidly approaching,  mam now has a hospital bed downstairs and carers and the nurse visiting daily. Yesterday her GP discussed increasing her pain relief but she's reluctant as it makes her so sleepy.

By the time her diagnosis was made, palliative care was the only option and because of Covid restrictions this has meant mam having to go through all of her chemotherapy, scans and consultations by herself.  Face to face meetings have been few and far between, most of her scan results were given via telephone. I feel this must have been such a lonely experience for her.

I'm mourning the future we've had taken away from us, mam's only 71, and have no idea of how it'll be when mam is no longer here.  

Thank you to whoever has taken the time to read this. I send my love to all of you going through this devastating experience.