How to put on weight

Rachel161080

Rachel161080

Hi all, I’ve never written on a forum before. My mom was recently diagnosed with Pancreatic Cancer and is due to start chemo soon. Our problem is her weight, she has only ever been a small woman to start with weighing about 8 stone but now her weight has gone down to 5 stone 12. I’m worried she won’t be strong enough to tolerate her chemo. It has been recommended she have the folfirinox but we are seeing an oncologist tomorrow to confirm if they will give her that one. They say it gives the best chance of getting her to operation stage. I’m desperately trying to get her to eat something but she has no appetite, feels full, has a dry mouth and is sometimes sick. The hospital said they would get a dietician to get in touch and today she received a text message to say someone would call her on 20th October!!! We can’t wait that long. Does anyone have any advice on what she can eat to help her build herself up. She takes creon and I should mention she’s very fussy! She manages to drink 2 fortisip drinks a day and maybe a piece of fruit or toast. The last 2 days she has managed a sausage and a bit of veg. Thank you in advance for any advice and good luck to everyone here. Reading your stories is amazing. You are all so strong xxx

Hello Rachel 

it’s difficult when someone is struggling to eat so much, I believe they have good dietary advice available on the website, fortisip drinks will give extra calories but not enough to sustain yourself. If she’s able to tolerate some soup you can provide fortification with butter or cream to add calories, add full fat milk or ice cream to milkshakes, porridge with full fat milk. 
little and often meals I would suggest, hope that helps 

Rachel161080

Hi Lisa, thank you very much for your helpful advice. Yes she can tolerate soups so I will def add more calories to them with the butter /cream x