Constipation advice for Mum with inoperable cancer..?

Lotta

During the whipple op, surgeon realised that Mum's tumour had spread to liver and was deemed inoperable. After undergoing some plumbing work to bypass the tumour to prevent sickness and jaundice she is now recovering from the op and awaiting chemo to start.

She is on morphine twice a day which is making her really constipated. She is taking laxatives prescribed by the hospital 3 times a day but hasn't been able to go in over a week.

This is causing major discomfort on top of the "normal" pain associated with the op and cancer.

Can anyone suggest a good laxative that will work for her, as everything she has tried has not worked...?

I just want her to be in as little discomfort as possible.

Any advice greatly appreciated. :?:

Hi Lotta, I'm sorry to hear about your Mum.

This is a "remedy" for constipation that is supposed to work well - but I have no personal experience of it, I just read about it here last year (I've copied and pasted from the original post:

Here is a copy and paste of the recipe posted on JHH Online Discussion Board. It worked great for my Mom and brought great relief. Don't use it too often though. Once the patient is back on track use plenty of stool softeners.

"We got this 'recipe' from an oncologist, and it does work. 4 ounces of prune juice (or 1/2 cup) 3 tablespoons of milk of magnesia mix it together and heat it not too hot so that you burn the patient (sorry can't remember who you were asking for) throat. Dad says it's ok warm and drink the entire 'drink.' It cleans him out in about 4 hours. It's nicknamed 'The Bomb.' They said for him not to do it more than once a day. Once you get 'cleaned out' continue with the senekot and stool softeners as normal."

I do hope your mum gets some relief.

Jan

• 1 year later...

Hello,