2 weeks till my whipples

Guest simon

Hi there,

I am about to go into hospital to have the whipples operation . wondered if there is anyone reading this who can be of some support .

Am pretty healthy at the moment, so i feel a bit of a fraud, but this is mainly due to having two stents in my bile duct keeping it all open.I have a 2cm tumour in my pancratic duct, which has been causing me obstructive jaundice on and off over the last two years . My surgeon thinks it is benign, as it is slow growing(i first had a scan on it in June 2005 ) whilst living in Australia.

My worst period was Dec/Jan just gone, my bilarubin level went up to 580 for a couple of weeks. The word itchy does not come close to discribing it!!!

Anyway, look forward to hearing from you.

Kindest regards

Simon

Hi Simon

I have tried to reply but I am unsure if it worked as I am new at some of this.

I had my whipples operation 9 years ago. The begin tumor was found after I was very jaundiced. Initially I was pregnant so that was a red herring to dianosis. I have been fortunate in that I have kept all my stomach and do not have a problem with most foods. It is luck dip with outcomes I'm afraid.

Your Australian connection is interesting. Yes I am in Australia and I have only just recently come across this site. A support group was formed just before my operation and we are known as the Whipples Warriors. Catchy isn't it. Our group is small and recently there has been a focus on pancreatic cancer here so who knows.

Good luck with your operation and I wish you and your supporters well.

Jan Mumford

Coordinator Whipples Warriors

Hi Simon,

After being diagnosed with Pancreatic cancer in February 2006 I underwent 24 weeks of chemotherapy followed by a 5-week course of radiotherapy with chemotherapy and had a Whipples operation in December. I went into hospital feeling quite healthy as I hadn't suffered any jaundice symptoms at all.