Dad diagnosed with PC Cancer

jenjen80

Hello all,

I am new to this thread. My dad has recently been diagnosed with Pancreatic cancer with mets to his liver. He had his first round of Folfirinox last week. He otherwise is an extremely fit and healthy 67 year old so this diagnosis has come as a complete shock, as I'm sure it has to anyone faced with this. Apart from that, We are an extremely positive family and determined to fight this with everything we have and look at all options available.

I wondered if any of you could share your advice with regards to eating to try and gain weight again. My dad is athletic so has always been slim, but our concern right now is the added weightloss he has suffered due to this diagnosis. He is still playing golf and cycling when he can, although he is very fatigued. He is trying to eat as much as possible but has good and bad days with regards to his digestion and discomfort. I have read that some people add protein powders to food? Any advice is greatly appreciated, thank you x

Hello I was diagnosed at 68 August 2017 with stage IV Pancreatic Cancer it was in my lungs and lymph nodes. So far the chemo (since August ) has kept the tumors stable , however my last CT in April showed that the cancer has started to shrink for the first time.

Eating has been an issue since I started feeling back pain in Nov of 2016.... took until August 2018 to convince my doctor to do a CT . Most of the time I am eating soft foods and soup, however I do have a day or two when I’m actually hungry and can eat sandwiches, fried chicken and normal stuff ( small portions). I find if I can eat protein when I wake up and before I go to bed then the nausea is reduced and I seem to have a little more energy. My go to food is egg custard as it is loaded with protein and slides down easily. Lots of eggs and whole milk. Also, good (Belgian chocolate pudding ) easy to digest and 380 calories per 1/2 cup.

Wishing you the best

Sandra

Hi Sandra,